top of page

Winter/2023 Winners of MIFF

The Seasonal winners of Montreal Independent Film Festival bring together international and Canadian artists competing in various sections of the Winter/2023 competition. Cannes award winners, Grammy nominated artists and emerging talents competed together in the latest seasonal edition of the festival.

The annual competition of the festival happens in association with Cinema du Parc of Montreal and Minima Films. Canadian shorts and features will be further nominated for a hybrid event with cinema and online screenings and promotions for indie film talents from all over the world. Montreal Independent Film Festival (MIFF) has turned into one of the most popular emerging international festivals dedicated to the cinematic language and independent filmmaking.

It is our pleasure to announce the winners of the Winter/2023. Here are the winners:

Best Narrative Feature THE BALLAD OF PIARGY Director: Ivo Trajkov

Best Narrative Short The escape Director: Antoine Blanche

Best Feature Documentary SYRIA, WOMEN IN WAR Director: Kamal Redouani

Best Short Documentary The Bardia Director: Gabriella Garcia-Pardo

Best Independent Film In Her Name Director: Sarah Carter

Best Horror The Abode

Director: Claudia La Bianca

Best Comedy Murder At Hollow Creek Director: David Lipper

Best Animation The BLIND OWL Director: M.ALI SAJADI

Best Science Fiction Sustained Reaction Director: Greg A Ferrara

Best Web Series/TV Pilot Chateau Laurier -Season 2 Director: James Stewart

Best Environmental & Best Experimental I c Director: Helene Moltke-Leth

Best Female Director Crossing Director: Jacqueline van Vugt

Best Human Rights Bowery Director: Mike Mintz, Irad Straus

Best First-Time Filmmaker Love & Irony Director: John A Biesack

Best Student Film Before You Director: Gia-Rayne Briana Harris

Best LGBTQ Political Bodies Director: Pedro Henrique França

Best Thriller Seclusion Director: Lovinder Gill

Best Canadian Indie (Narrative)

The Hours Before Sunrise Director: Daniel H. A. Stewart

Best Canadian Indie (Documentary) The Lobster Whisperer Director: Colin MacKenzie

Best Director of the season Bullets over Marseille Director: Gordan Matic

Honorable Mention First Time Filmmaker

Director: Ethan Michael Strong

Best Cinematographer of the season Jonah Mazer Is This Forever

Best Actor of the season Drew Elston The Placebo

Best Actress of the season Ciera Danielle In Her Name

Best Editor of the season J.C. Doler The Blue Dress

Best Composer of the season DAVIDE CAPRELLI EST

Scriptwriter of the season The Arrival Gary O. Bennett

Best Youth Artist of the season Adrian Antonsen Escorted

Best Unproduced Feature Script Branca Andre Alves, Antonio Paz-Bezerra

Best Unproduced Short Script Dramical Adam Kelly Morton

Canadian Honorable Mentions

Honorable Mention Screenplay

Writer: Alice Moran

Honorable Mention Composer

La Rosa Purpurea Enzo De Rosa

Honorable Mention Documentary SAVING CHINATOWN - OUR HERITAGE. OUR LEGEND. THE IMPACT. Director: Jimmy Chan

Honorable Mention Short Documentary What Remains Director: Kylie Edwards

Honorable Mention Feature Documentary Srpska: The Struggle for Freedom Director: Boris Malagurski


bottom of page