top of page

Award Winners of Montreal

The award winners of the latest edition of Montreal Independent Film Festival were announced on June 15th. The festival committee has continued its virtual edition since the pandemic started and the team plans to have its annual event as a hybrid event in late fall when the best films of the year will be announced. The emerging and visionary Canadian festival has grown in popularity by independent film talents from all over the globe and it ranks as of the most popular festivals of FilmFreeway.

The winners of each edition could be further nominated for the annual event and the finalists of the annual festival will be screened further through the festival and receive cash awards, promotions and bonuses. All the award winners also can request a bonus from one of the departments of MIFF. All the award winners have access to online screening of their projects through Toronto Film Channel which screened over hundreds of shorts and many features for MIFF last year. It is with great pleasure for us to announce the latest winners of the festival in various categories.

Best Narrative Feature:

The Ravine

Director: Keoni Waxman

Best Director:

East of Middle West

Director: Brian Lucke Anderson

Best Narrative Short & Best Canadian Indie:

Five Pounds of Pressure

Director: Liam Petite

Best Short Thriller & Best Cinematography:


Directors: Michael Grant, Stephanie Katherine Grant

Best Biography:

Max Steiner Maestro of Movie Music

Director: Diana Friedberg

Best Feature Documentary:

The Pasha

Director: Josie Maynard

Best Short Documentary:

Our Feet Are Rooted

Director: Krista Imbesi

Honorable Mention Short Documentary:


Director: Fredi Devas

Best Independent Feature:

Raindrops from the Sun

Director: Tomonao Sakurayashiki

Honorable Mention Independent Feature:


Director: Jessica Hester, Derek Schweickart

Best Short Horror:

Hollow Walls

Director: Michael Minard

Best Comedy:

Mann Overboard

Director: Sam Cadman

Best Short Animation:

The Cat

Director: Mary Apick

Honorable Mention Animation:

On / Off

Director: Nicolas P. Villarreal

Best Sci-Fi:

The Evaluation

Director: Andrew Kuokka

Best Series/Pilot/Web:


Director: Eric Tucker

Best Short Experimental:

Outside My Window

Director: Sonia Gemmiti

Best Experimental Directing:

Director: Johanne Chagnon

Best Environmental:


Directors: Gloria Pancrazi, Elena Jean

Best Female Director:


Director: Robin Hauser

Best Human Rights Feature Docu:

"Saving the Iraqi Jewish Archives: A Journey of Identity"

Directors: Adriana Davis, Carole Basri

Best Human Rights Short Docu:

The Bitter Root

Director: Chad Clendinen

Best First Time Filmmaker:


Director: Rayul

Best Student Short:

No Dye

Director: Yoni Azulay

Best Student Animation:

Final Deathtination

Director: Marika Tamura

Best Canadian Student Film:

Body of Mine

Director: Sean Patterson

Best Environmental Canadian:


Director: Zach Fenlon


Remember Us

Director: Rubyll Banuelos

Best Music Video:

Nautical Things

Director: Samantha Light

Best Actor:

Carson MacCormac for East of Middle West

Best Actress:

Teri Polo for The Ravine

Honorable Mention Best Actress:

Joyce-Grey-Carter for The last breath

Best Composer:

Dominio Vigente Der Wert Der Erde

Juan Mora Cid

Honorable Mention Composer:

Jordan Lewis for The Just

Best Script:


Writer: Lolita Fortuin

Best Trailer of the month:


Director: Rodrigo Rodrigues

Best Producer & Best Edit:

East of Middle West

Producesr: Mokotsi Rukundo & Brian Lucke Anderson

Editor: Glen Montgomery

1 comment

١ تعليق واحد

١٦ يونيو ٢٠٢١

Bravo à tous !

Dommage pour nous !


bottom of page